ELAN Blog ~ Week 44, Day 223


carved Indian

“A revolution in science has recently revealed that the adult brain remains open to change throughout the lifespan,” states Daniel J. Siegel, M.D., in the foreword of Buddha’s Brain: the Practical Neuroscience of Happiness, Love and Wisdom, by Rick Hanson, Ph.D., with Richard Mendius, M.D.

Years ago, when the courses for ELAN (Elevating Life Attitudes Now) were coming together, I choose “Be a Life Long Learner” as the tenth ELAN Principle, in part to encourage fellow travelers on the path of self-development to continue working toward a life well lived. Today there is new scientific evidence that tells us our brains have the capability to not only gain new information, but to actually reroute the circuitry of the way our brains fire and wire together. The good, and maybe scary, news is that everything we do and think alters how our brain works.

What opportunity this presents. What responsibility.

Yesterday we heard about Hanson’s list of five types of people to whom we can offer thoughts of love and well wishes, even silently. We remember that such thoughts cannot be judgmental or choosy. To truly fire our brains toward a more loving and kind stance, we must spread love and goodwill to all. That all includes oneself.

Most people that I know strive to reach out in love to others, even those who are difficult to deal with on a daily basis. I feel the need to mention again that I am astounded by blatant hatred and prejudice that some friends, acquaintances and even loved ones extend toward particular groups of people, by race, ethnicity, religious beliefs or sexual preference. To them I am tempted to say, shame. But then I have to realize that in so doing I am no better as I judge others as less than generous or loving. Any judgement on my part categorizes others as different from myself, regardless of whether I deem them to be better or worse.

Remembering the five types of people –– benefactors, friends, neutral people, difficult people and yourself –– I am reminded that we all fall into one of those categories from time to time. If I find it difficult to love others who easily express hatred then I fail at the notion of loving others, all others. Now I am really at a difficult spot since Hanson reminds us that we must include ourselves in that group of all others to whom we strive to offer thoughts of loving-kindness. This circle of understanding brings me back around to what I do know: thinking and acting out of love is always appropriate and the more we come to know our true selves, the more easily we can love that self. Only then can we genuinely think and act from love in every circumstance. The fact that such practice rewires our brain toward love and good will is an amazing bonus.

TODAY think about the most difficult person you deal with on a regular basis. How easily could you extend thoughts of love and kindness toward them? How does judgement of others impede your progress toward a more loving mental stance?

“And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.” I Corinthians 13:13

“It is never too late to give up your prejudices.” Henry David Thoreau, 1817-1862

About ELAN Blog
Patty Mayeux is the founder of ELAN Enterprises, developed to help others live a 3-D life. She is the author and co-publisher with photographer Linda Lapointe of "Beautiful Women: Like You and Me," a book of photographs, poems and biographies that encourages women and men to recognize and value the inner beauty of women.

Leave a comment